top of page


I can't remember what age I was, when I first read this magnificent trilogy. I did go back and reread the entire trilogy last year in preparation to reading the new book "The Book of Dust", which I still have not got around to reading.

This set is a beautiful Folio edition with all three volumes of the trilogy fitting snuggly into a slip case. There are only two colours used in the design but it works so effictively. The gold on the black gives, me at least, the impression of the "dust" that is paramount to the narrative of the trilogy.

Each volume has illustrations that are very simple in design and layout, but again, suit the set.

The books that make up the triolgy are firstly "Northen Lights" also published as "The Golden Compass" and made into a feature film.

The second book is "The Subtle Knife" and the third "The Amber Spyglass"

The books have caused problems, especially with religious factions, as the triolgy delves into religion, creation and theology.

Here is a synopsis of the story -

His Dark Materials is one of the supreme works of imaginative fiction for both children and adults published in the 20th century. Northern Lights introduces Lyra, an orphan, who lives in a parallel universe in which science, theology and magic are entwined. Lyra's search for a kidnapped friend uncovers a sinister plot involving stolen children, and turns into a quest to understand a mysterious phenomenon called Dust. In The Subtle Knife she is joined on her journey by Will, a boy who possesses a knife that can cut windows between worlds. As Lyra learns the truth about her parents and her prophesied destiny, the two young people are caught up in a war against celestial powers that ranges across many worlds and leads to a thrilling conclusion in The Amber Spyglass.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page